If you use an Adblocker please consider disabling it while browsing this blog.
By viewing and/or clicking the AD's you make the future of this blog brighter! Thank you!

Advertisement

Saturday, December 16, 2017

Top 25 Books Of 2017: #10 Thirteen Reasons Why By Jay Asher




Welcome To The Fifth Annual
Top 25 Books Of The Year!

For the next 25 days, we'll be counting down to Christmas with the Top 25 Books I've read this year! The book doesn't have to have been published this year. This list may only include books I've read from December 2016 to November 2017 (re-reads, books published a few years ago, ARC's of books about to be published, audio books, etc. also count).

*Books in this list are ranked from number twenty-five to number one (the best book of the year).

So let's get started!
***
#10

Thirteen Reasons Why
By Jay Asher


"You can't stop the future."

"You can't rewind the past."

"The only way to learn the secret . . . is to press play."

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker--his classmate and crush--who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah's voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out why.

Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a firsthand witness to Hannah's pain, and as he follows Hannah's recorded words throughout his town, what he discovers changes his life forever."
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks |

You can also check out my review of this book:
My Review |
__________________
About The Author:


Jay Asher was born in Arcadia, California on September 30, 1975. He grew up in a family that encouraged all of his interests, from playing the guitar to his writing. He attended Cuesta College right after graduating from high school. It was here where he wrote his first two children’s books for a class called Children’s Literature Appreciation. At this point in his life, he had decided he wanted to become an elementary school teacher. He then transferred to California Polytechnic State University in San Luis Obispo where he left his senior year in order to pursue his career as a serious writer. Throughout his life he worked in various establishments, including as a salesman in a shoe store and in libraries and bookstores. Many of his work experiences had an impact on some aspect of his writing.
Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook |

Friday, December 15, 2017

Top 25 Books Of 2017: #11 That's What Friends Are For By Jim Benton




Welcome To The Fifth Annual
Top 25 Books Of The Year!

For the next 25 days, we'll be counting down to Christmas with the Top 25 Books I've read this year! The book doesn't have to have been published this year. This list may only include books I've read from December 2016 to November 2017 (re-reads, books published a few years ago, ARC's of books about to be published, audio books, etc. also count).

*Books in this list are ranked from number twenty-five to number one (the best book of the year).

So let's get started!
***
#11

That's What Friends Aren't For
(Dear Dumb Diary #9)
By Jim Benton

Dear Dumb Diary,

So now I'm friends with Angeline. This is automatic friendship, and I have to just accept it and make the best of things. 

See, if I objected, then Aunt Carol might divorce Angeline's uncle, sending both of them tumbling into a deep pit of depression for the rest of their lives, and Angeline could wind up feeling so guilty that she would have to go be locked up in an old dirty insane asylum for years and years, and Stinker's puppies could grow up not knowing both their parents --- and I couldn't live with myself for doing something like that to a puppy.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon | B&N | iBooks |

You can also check out my review of this book:
My Review |
__________________
About The Author:

Benton began his career in a custom design t-shirt shop where he started designing his own characters. At the same time, Jim did illustrations and artwork for magazines and newspapers. People magazine named him "the most visible cartoonist in America" .

Benton also created greeting cards and worked in the magazine and publishing industry. In 1998, his SpyDogs characters became an animated series, The Secret Files of the Spy Dogs, that aired on Fox Kids. Licensing his own creations brought them widespread attention on products, such as It's Happy Bunny, The Misters, Just Jimmy and more.

Benton currently lives in Michigan, where he operates out of his own studio.
Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook |

My Ramblings: Seasonal Books: Yay or Nay?

Seasonal Books: Yay or Nay?

I can't be the only one who doesn't really enjoy season specific books, right? I like extra novellas/books in my favorite series as much as any other person, but seasonal books have become a turn off for me in the last few years. 

The story could take place any other day/time of the year, why does it have to be specifically geared towards Christmas, Halloween, Valentine's Day, etc.? I understand the marketing purpose of it all, but does it really make a difference? Book sales get me to buy more books than usual. A specifically themed holiday story in the middle of a series, will not do that for me.

Looking back on these 'My Ramblings' posts I seem to be a big complainer. I've realized that I have way too many pet peeves when books are involved, which is getting more and more drastic every year, even for me.

What are some of your pet peeves (bookish or otherwise)?
Let's complain about them in the comments below!

Thursday, December 14, 2017

Top 25 Books Of 2017: #12 Tempting Raven By Jessica Sorensen




Welcome To The Fifth Annual
Top 25 Books Of The Year!

For the next 25 days, we'll be counting down to Christmas with the Top 25 Books I've read this year! The book doesn't have to have been published this year. This list may only include books I've read from December 2016 to November 2017 (re-reads, books published a few years ago, ARC's of books about to be published, audio books, etc. also count).

*Books in this list are ranked from number twenty-five to number one (the best book of the year).

So let's get started!
***
#12

Tempting Raven
(Curse of the Vampire Queen #1)
By Jessica Sorensen

Eighteen-year-old Raven was just an ordinary vampire until Fate chose her as the new vampire queen. And Fate has a twisted sense of humor because it chose Rhyland Midnitegale as king, who just happens to be her sworn enemy.

Raven isn’t thrilled about ruling with Rhyland, but if she doesn’t step up to her title, the chaos, rebellions, and murders taking over the vampire world will only continue to get worse. So she accepts the position, but secretly hopes that maybe Fate will change its mind.

She soon learns that being queen comes with many rules. Rules that bind her heart and soul to Rhyland in ways she never imagined. Rules that keep her life out of danger from outside threats. Rules that she must follow or the entire vampire kingdom pays the price.

But dangers may be lurking close by, and Raven may be cursed with more than just the title of the queen.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon |

You can also check out my review of this book:
My Review |
__________________
About The Author:



Jessica Sorensen is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author from the snowy mountains of Wyoming. When she's not writing, she spends her time reading and hanging out with her family.
Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook |


The Power Of Book Covers: Devil In Spring By Lisa Kleypas


They say don't judge a book by it's movie...err...COVER. 
BUT they never said we couldn't PRAISE them.

This week's cover:

Devil In Spring
By Lisa Kleypas

An eccentric wallflower…

Most debutantes dream of finding a husband. Lady Pandora Ravenel has different plans. The ambitious young beauty would much rather stay at home and plot out her new board game business than take part in the London Season. But one night at a glittering society ball, she’s ensnared in a scandal with a wickedly handsome stranger.

A cynical rake…

After years of evading marital traps with ease, Gabriel, Lord St. Vincent, has finally been caught-by a rebellious girl who couldn’t be less suitable. In fact, she wants nothing to do with him. But Gabriel finds the high-spirited Pandora irresistible. He’ll do whatever it takes to possess her, even if their marriage of convenience turns out to be the devil’s own bargain.

A perilous plot…

After succumbing to Gabriel’s skilled and sensuous persuasion, Pandora agrees to become his bride. But soon she discovers that her entrepreneurial endeavors have accidentally involved her in a dangerous conspiracy -- and only her husband can keep her safe. As Gabriel protects her from their unknown adversaries, they realize their devil’s bargain may just turn out to be a match made in heaven...
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon |
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...